THINGS TO SEE & DO
The Mercat Cross, Elgin
Commonly known as the Muckle Cross, stood, until circa 1792 AD, on a site just east of St. Giles Kirk. The structure removed at that date seems to have been erected in the reign of Charles I and consisted of a hexagonal platform or raised balcony 12 feet high, from the centre of which rose a tall shaft surmounted by the Scottish Lion. The Lion alone survived, and the present Cross, erected on the old site in 1882, is, in all other respects, a restoration.
The Mercat Cross, Forres
Stands in the centre of the High Street in front of the Tolbooth. It is in the Gothic style of architecture and stands forty feet high. The Cross is a miniature version of Sir Walter Scott's Monument in Edinburgh. The present market cross of Forres stands on the site of the former. It was built in 1844. The base of the former cross was left in position and, the new cross was built over it. Nothing of the old cross can now be seen. Three carved stones from the top of the old market cross are preserved in the Falconer Museum, Forres.
The Thomson Monument, Forres
Erected in 1857 on the sire, where there once stood a castle, this monument commemorates the life of James Thomson, a surgeon from Cromarty who died at the age of 31 in the Crimea.
The Tolbooth, Forres
A govermmental building of some sort has stood on this site since records began but the building you see now was completed in 1849 and was home to Forres Town Council until 1976. Now, the Community Council of the Royal Burgh of Forres hold their monthly meetings in the courtroom of The Tolbooth.
The Witches’ Stone
This stone, thought to date from Pictish times and to have been used as an altar to the Sun God, marks the resting place of one of 3 barrels in which 3 witches were rolled down Cluny Hill and burned.Contact:
Victoria Road, Forres - in front of the police station.
Thunderton House, Elgin
Known for Bonnie Prince Charlie staying here on route to Culloden, Thunderton House is a cosy and friendly pub serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner until 9pm. It is also available for backpackers to lodge in.Contact:
Thunderton Place, Elgin,
Tugnet Ice House, Spey Bay
Built in 1830, it is reputedly the largest industrial ice house in Scotland. Tugnet Ice House nestles between the River Spey and the Moray Firth at the mouth of the Spey.Contact:
Spey Bay, Fochabers,
Urquhart Castle, Inverness
One of the largest castles in Scotland, Urquhart Castle sits on a rocky promontory on the shores of Loch Ness. Discover 1,000 years of drama, experience a glimpse of medieval life and enjoy stunning views over Loch Ness from the ruins of the greatest castle in the Highlands. This is where St Columba is said to have worked miracles in the 6th century, where acts of chivalry and defiance provided inspiration during the Wars of Independence and where the MacDonald Lords of the Isles struggled with the Crown for power. The visitor centre is fully accessible and there is a photographic guide for those who have mobility issues. Disability buggies are available on request.Contact:
Drumnadrochit, Inverness, Inverness-shire,
Ben Aigan lies to the east of Rothes, the north east of Craigellachie and to the east of the River Spey which flows along the foot of its western and northern slopes. Rising to a height of 471m (1546 ft) and extensively forested apart from the summit cone, the top of Ben Aigan provides magnificent views over Speyside, south to Ben Rinnes and north over the Moray Firth to the hills of Sutherland.
Ben Avon is the most easterly mountain of the main Cairngorm range. It occupies a vast area to the north-east of Glen Quoich stretching towards Inchrory and the River Gairn, and it is recognisable from many viewpoints across Moray by the granite tors on the skyline of its long flat plateau.
The mountain is popular with hikers with the sight from the summit that is described as truly amazing. The mountain is 20 km² in total and is located 8 km southwest of Dufftown. The mountain has one main path and can be easily accessed from the nearby car park. The Friends of Ben Rinnes program has been working on the paths to make it more accessible to the public and to prevent further erosion.
Bin Hill of Cullen
The distinctive conical outline of Mt. Morven - at 2,313ft.(706m) is easy to spot. Looking East, you can see Portsoy and Troup Head. To the South East lies the bulk of Knock Hill at 1,410ft (430m). The Cairngorm Mts. lie to the South West. Looking westwards along the Moray Coast you can see the curve of the bay at Lossiemouth. Below you lie Cullen, the viaducts, Cullen House and the Auld Kirk.